TD-20 when used with Superior Drummer 2.0

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• TD-20 when used with Superior Drummer 2.0

Hello everyone. I am brand new to this great forum...first and foremost thanks to all who have shared their knowledge and experience with vdrums...reading these threads has been very helpful!

This new thread is to get some feedback on those who have used the Roland TD-20 (with or without the expansion pack) to trigger the drum sample sounds in Superior Drummer 2.0 or a similar sample software like BFD. So to be as brief as possible here are my questions and concerns:

I recently purchased Superior Drummer 2.0 and absolutely love it. (Those of you who have not yet checked it out should do so. I've never used BFD2 or other similar software packages so I can't compare but to be honest, after using Superior Drummer 2.0, I don't ever really care to even try anything else.) I'm in the process of purchasing a similar setup to what Nir Z was using in the Superior Drummer 2.0 Namm demo video which can be found on Toontrack's website.

Here is my setup:
    Drum Module: Roland TD-20 or TDW-20
    Triggers: Hart Dynamic 13" Pro Magnum Snare, Hart Dynamic Pro Toms, Hart Dynamic E-Cymbal II Hats with HD's Hi-Hat stand/trigger, Alesis Surge Crashes (x2) and Ride Cymbals, Yamaha KP-125 Kick Tower
    Computer: MacBook with 2GHz Intel Dual Core, 4 Gigs RAM
    Sound-Card/Output: PreSonus FireBox
    Software: Toontrack's Superior Drummer 2.0

(the reason I'm using a Yamaha Kick Tower is because all Hart Dynamics or Roland kick towers that use mesh heads had too much rebound and bounce for my taste)

The triggers are plugged into the TD-20 which goes USB MIDI out to the MAC, triggers the appropriate samples in Superior 2.0, then sends the output sound via firewire though the FireBox.

First of all, I'd be interested to hear of other setups, similar or not and any advantages/disadvantages these setups may have.