Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

please help, confused, midi, module, trigger I/O, inverter? . . . help!

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• please help, confused, midi, module, trigger I/O, inverter? . . . help!

Alright, I am new to this, and don't want to buy the wrong stuff anymore. . .
    I just got a Roland TD-3 module because I want to trigger my bass drum live (as well as my other drums if I can get the hang of this and find some good sounds) . . . but, I am more interested right now in figuring out how to do the bass drop effect live. . .

I do not believe the TD 3 is capable of editing sounds enough to get a good sounding bass drop, and know it has no storage for loading samples, so upon further research, I stumbled upon what I believe is probably the answer, but I am not very familiar with terminology and technicalities, so I dont know. . . but, I found an alesis trigger I/O for 150 bones. . this has USB connectivity, and after reading it seems as though, with the software that comes with the unit, I could set up a electric drum pad, or some drum with a trigger, and have that trigger the sample of the bass drop from my laptop. . . I do have a very nice laptop, so if lag is that much of a problem, I don't imagine anyone really being able to use this method live, but. . . is the trigger I/O what i need for this? in conjunction with the TD-3? any better options?

on ebay by typing in midi interface, it also returns a lot of results, that are much cheaper, that are just chords pretty much with midi in and out ends, and a usb end. . . would I be able to accomplish this with one of those? and the right software?

I am pretty confused and having real trouble finding clear answers! please help

Welcome!

I'm confused by two things:

You want to do this live, but you don't think anyone could use a laptop live?

And; "inverter"?

Bruce

Comment