Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Choke Cymbal AD on TD-9

Good Afternoon,

Did anyone successfully choked a cymbal in Addictive Drums using a TD-9? I know there is a lot of threads about that with a mention that I'm using that module and it should work with TD-9 but it's not (at least for me). I'm using MIDI mapper from chaoticbox and I'm able to make everything work (including Hi-Hat) but when I choke a cymbal, every instruments are being triggered on the kit.

So if somebody here was able to make a cymbal choke in Addictive Drums using a TD-9 module and MIDI mapper, please let me know because I'm short of solution.

Thank you

Francis

I have no experience with the hardware or software you're using. But the MIDI standard has both key aftertouch (a.k.a. polyphonic pressure) and channel aftertouch (i.e. all keys): The difference between channel aftertouch and polyphonic aftertouch

Roland cymbals/modules use key aftertouch to transmit chokes via MIDI. It sounds to me that possibly your choke is getting mapped to the "wrong type of aftertouch" (All Together!)

Bruce

Comment

So if I understand well, the MIDI mapper should be configured for cymbal choke as the following screenshot.

Last edited by Francis_Beland; 03-08-09, 04:44 PM.

Comment

There's information about cymbal chokes in Addictive Drums in the five posts following this one: TD20 drum map for Addictive Drums ?

Bruce

Comment

I'm the happiest guy right now. I've never been able to choke cymbal with AD. The only thing I've been able to do was to fire all triggers. Tonight, I was trying for a 100th time to choke and by looking randomly on the net, I noticed that Chaotic Box did release a version 1.2.1 of their really good Edrum Midi mapper. Here's the version history :

Version 1.2.1 - February 22, 2009

- Filtered polyphonic aftertouch (choke) events no longer produce superfluous note events under certain conditions.