Distortion in S2 Avatar kits

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Distortion in S2 Avatar kits

I'm distorting wildly, to the extent that my DAW Logic crashes the tracks I'm trying to record to, but it only happens in Avatar kits. DFH loaded via Superior works fine, as does EZDrummer loaded from its own window or the Superior one.

It would not appear to be equipment failure on my part, nor might it be the Superior engine, given that DFH & EZD run fine within it.

Anyone any thoughts? We can't solve it.

Hi Scott

It simply says v 2.0 in the top right of the GUI. Mind you, I am no techie!

The DAW is my brother's ancient version of Logic 5.2, which is an untested host. I'm using Roland TD6 > M-Audio fast track pro > S2 in Logic.

I've tried to load different Avatar kits (usually in 16 bit), including Joe K's s2.0 file which comes in at about 650m.

The only thing I've done that I know about which could be affecting things is that I tried to build a large prog kit that used all the Avatar drums (5 toms) and most of the cymbals, plus six or seven x-drums from other kits including pop&rock and latin percussion. The levels of those instruments were at variance with the Avatar kit and with each other, so I turned them all up in the Instrument pane.

I don't understand mike and midi key assignments, and stuff like that - can't work it out from the manual.

Progsmacker.

Comment

Thanks Scott.

It's a PC - the old Logic DAW is emagical! - and it runs Pentium D, CPU 2.8 GHz, 0.99 GB RAM. According to my info we shouldn't have a problem on that score.

And the distortion will happen a few seconds after the kit is loaded (which seems to be taking a few minutes rather than seconds) even when I'm auditioning drums in the GUI. On the kit, in the cans, the noise is awful and even the track I'm playing into warps all over the place.