Welcome! If this is your first visit, you will need to register to participate.

DO NOT use symbols in usernames. Doing so will result in an inability to sign in & post!

If you cannot sign in or post, please visit our vBulletin Talk section for answers to vBulletin related FAQs.

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Opinions wanted: Addictive Drums vs. EZ Drummer

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Opinions wanted: Addictive Drums vs. EZ Drummer

I am a semi-newbie at this (I have used ProteusX to generate drum sounds from my TD-3 kit, so I have some limited experience -- but nothing with the new dedicated drum software). BFD and DFHS seem a bit much for me for just getting my feet wet, both in terms of price and computer resources. So, it looks like my practical options are down to EZ Drummer and Addictive Drums. I've read more about EZ Drummer, and it's cheaper, so I was concentrating on that. However, after checking out the samples on their respective websites, I actually liked the sound samples from the Addictive Drums better. But, I haven't made a final decision and I'd like some advice from people who have used either with their Vdrum modules.

My priorities are:

*natural acoustic-like drum sounds for a classic rock (Led Zep, Free, and so on), jazz-rock (modal jam band-y type stuff) and folk-y (against just acoustic guitar and vocals, for example) context.

*No machine-gunning! Or at least minimized as much as possible. The machine-gunning from my module is driving me nuts.

*Easy [and correct] interaction between my TD-3 module and the software. I get quickly frustrated by having to do too much rerouting in MIDI.

[I currently have two crashes, hi hat and ride for cymbals, and three toms. Single kick, and of course a snare. I would like to expand to four toms eventually, and maybe a third crash, but my (module TD-3) is maxed out and any expansion might be quite a bit down the road]

So -- any recommendations?