Welcome! If this is your first visit, you will need to register to participate.

DO NOT use symbols in usernames. Doing so will result in an inability to sign in & post!

If you cannot sign in or post, please visit our Forum Talk section for answers to frequently asked questions.

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

MIDI and Addictive Drums--Comprehensive Guide?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• MIDI and Addictive Drums--Comprehensive Guide?

Ok, I'm new at this whole MIDI thing, and I've tried to read and understand the TD-8 manual, etc., tried to search for help on here but I've not seen anything. All of the videos online always show people playing with their e-kits and the software, but NO ONE every shows the 1-2-3's on how it's all set up. Is there a tutorial somewhere that outlines each step so that a newbie can understand??? I really want to start using my laptop and Addictive Drums to trigger my DIY/Roland TD-8 kit in a live situation but don't know where to start. I have the software, I just need to know how to use it.

Any help is appreciated...thanks!!

From memory a quickie for you:

* Connect Roland to a MIDI in/out device (you'll need one of those) which is attached to your computer
    * Install AD
    * Install some host app, like Reaper
    * Configure Reaper or your host to use your sound device (ideally not your built-in laptop sound card)
    * Arm new track in Reaper and click the speaker icon for the track so you can hear it
    * Set track to your MIDI input, easiest to set it to "all" MIDI channels if all you have if your Roland
    * Click the FX button for the track
    * Select AD
    * Start playing