Welcome! If this is your first visit, you will need to register to participate.

DO NOT use symbols in usernames. Doing so will result in an inability to sign in & post!

If you cannot sign in or post, please visit our Forum Talk section for answers to frequently asked questions.

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

How do I record with Acid 6?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• How do I record with Acid 6?

Here is the setup.

Dell Laptop - Dual core 1.6, 2 gig ddr2, onboard sound
    TD-7 triggering EZ Drummer using Toontrack Solo with a MIDI to USB cord
    This setup performs great. Good sound with no latency.

I have finally gotten around to installing Sony Acid 6 on my laptop and want to try to record some things. First, I should let you know that I have no studio software experience. What I have found out is that you cannot record a sound that is generated by a program that is installed on the same system as the studio software. Does that make sense? I opened up a simple synth program in Acid and was able to create sound, however no matter what I tried, I could not record it. The only thing that I accomplished was to record myself tapping on the laptop case through what I guess would be an external microphone. This is frustrating.

Do I need to set up EZ Drummer on a completely different computer and then run the audio out to the laptop that has the studio software? I was under the understanding that I could play and record on the same computer.

I you have any advice it would be appreciated. I can also give more detailed info to help solve the problem. Thanks as always.

S.

Make sure in the Options/Preferences of Acid 6 that the correct location is shown for your VSTi folder so that EZDrummer will show up in the VSTi list...

You need to create a MIDI track (CTRL+Alt+Q) and then route it to the EZDrummer VSTi.