Welcome! If this is your first visit, you will need to register to participate.

DO NOT use symbols in usernames. Doing so will result in an inability to sign in & post!

If you cannot sign in or post, please visit our vBulletin Talk section for answers to vBulletin related FAQs.

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

BFD or EZdrummer?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• BFD or EZdrummer?

Can I please have some input on these two produts?
    From experience can someone tell me the difference?
    What would you buy and why?

Thanks

Well I'm a noob at this stuff, but I can tell you this.....EZD will be easier to use for someone like us to start our path down the road to vst + Edrums. BFD takes a LOT of hard drive space and there is a lot more you can do with editing different drum samples as in mic placement and such. Both are excellent, but EZD is EZer.

Comment

EZdrummer is going to be less resource intensive, less expensive and less tweakable. It has about a 250 - 300 MB footprint for memory for loading an entire kit (depending on the kit or EZX expansion). The sounds are really good, though you aren't going to be able to change the pitch or fade of samples. There is no MIDI mapping ability within EZdrummer ... Toontrack's goal for the product wasn't to be part of an EDrumming solution, they have the "Superior Drummer" product for that (previously known as "dfh Superior"). However, it works REALLY well as one ... the underlying engine is really robust for triggering ... certain performance aspects, like cymbal chokes, work without any configuration required with a Roland TMI.

I use dfh Superior and I've tweaked the sounds and triggering just as I want them, however I still like to load up EZdrummer in stand-alone mode all the time. It is a fun package to sit down and play with.

| Argos | Your Cloud | Lost In Germany | Life Wasted | Identity Crisis
      | The Xerophyte | Red Barchetta | Subdivisions or Drums Only |