Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Jazz/funk drum libraries

Hi All,

I am an acoustic drummer that plays mostly funk and jazz, recently forced to the electronic kit by quarantine. I am loving being able to play again, but the kits on my Roland TD-4 are pretty awful sounding. I am looking at good VSTs for jazz and funk drums.

I am not interested in any features involving loops / stylized automated playing, I only really care about the quality of the sound libraries and how expressive they can be when played. I have a presonus interface for MIDI input to Studio One so I would like to be able to do some recordings as well.

I have done quite a bit of reading and listening, arriving at this short list of favorites:

1) EZ Drummer 2 / Superior Drummer 3... expansion packs of great interest are:
    - Jazz EDX (or Roots SDX)
    - Funk Masters EZX
    - Decades SDX

The above expansion packs sound quite great to me, and I know SD3 is an amazing piece of software. My main concern is the high upfront cost ($400 for SD3 + $200 each for the SDX packs), and the likelihood that I would not use a lot of the functionality of SD3. There is a huge appeal in the plug'n play nature of EZ2... My main interest is composition and playing, and I worry that with SD3 I will have to spend a ton of time mixing/EQ etc. to get a nice set of kits I can play. I do have some experience mixing drums, but that's not really the goal here. Can anyone comment on how playable the presets are for the Roots and Decades SDX packs? The Funk Masters EZX sounds quite nice for the classic funk sound, but I am not sure about a more modern funk/fusion option. Outside of the expansion packs listed above, do people have good success building custom kits for modern funk / jazz fusion with the SD3 core library?

2) Addictive Drums 2, expansion packs:
    - Modern Jazz
    - Funk