Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Best VST for TD-50 Capabilities in Cubase 10

Hello,
    I'm sure this general question will lead to a lot of opinions so let me try to clarify. Is there a VST that will utilize the extra articulations of the TD-50 which users generally feel has better sounds than the TD-50 and will work in Cubase 10?

I'm new to edrums and bought a TD-30 Franken-kit that came with 4 toms, 5 cymbals and VH-13 hats. I bought the TD-50 upgrade package with the module, snare and ride. I also upgraded the kick to the KD-140. I've been working on learning the module sound capabilities and how to record and render MIDI in Cubase 10. Before knowing anything, I also bought EZDrummer 2 and Groove Agent 4. I had trouble trying to get GA 4 to work and Steinberg said it was really made for keyboards, not edrums and it couldn't handle extra articulations like the 5 hat notes generated by the VH-13's. So, that option is probably out.

I tried EZDrummer 2 a year ago, couldn't figure it out and gave up until retrying it again now. I remember I ran into limitations with it too but couldn't remember what they were. Talking with Roland, they said they couldn't say what VST's would work best with the advanced capabilities of the TD-50. They recommend users experiment. I believe the limitations with EZDrummer 2 are:

-Two zone cymbals that allow 3 sounds (bow, edge, choke) can only play the edge and choke in EZD2
    -I'm not sure yet, but I think the TD-50 ride, snare and hats may have too many articulations to handle too.
    -I used the Roland map that came with EZD2 and it mostly worked however, two of my cymbals trigger the EZD2 tom 3 and two cymbals from EZD2 are not triggered by the TD-50 yet. The TD-50 tom 3 is not triggered by my physical toms. I think this may be due to using Aux for the cymbals.