Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Opinions on the Yamaha 502 series module for VST only

Hi,
    I've come to the conclusion that I have failed in my endeavor to make my Megadrum work for me, so I think I need to try a simpler solution for Addictive drums with maybe a Yamaha module.

I have a set of Yamaha 900 cymbals, hihat and bass drum pad, and a cakepan conversion set of Pearl Rhythm Travellers. Because I already have the Yamaha cymbals I'm thinking a Yamaha brain would suit me well for the purposes of running Addictive Drums.

What does everyone think of the Yamaha 500 series module?

I'm hoping I can fix my problems very simply with this, but I also fear that I might run into more complications similar to trying to learn the Megadrum.

Thanks so much for your insight!

Fine. No problem. (don't know what you mean by 900 cymbals, though. Yamaha cymbals are PCYxxx, most likely PCY130/135/150/155).
    Last edited by electrodrummer; 12-24-16, 07:00 PM.
    *** Never buy a module without MIDI IN ***
    DTX modules. Roland TM-2, SP-404. Multi12. TrapKat. ControlPad. Wavedrum. Handsonic. Dynacord RhythmStick. MPC. Paiste 2002/Signatures. Cajons. Djembes. Darbuka. Windsynth. MIDI Bass. Tenori-on. Loads o' synth modules. And...a ukulele or three.

Comment

Not sure if the snare rim will work with Roland type pads.

Comment

(don't think they have any Roland pads.... )
        *** Never buy a module without MIDI IN ***
        DTX modules. Roland TM-2, SP-404. Multi12. TrapKat. ControlPad. Wavedrum. Handsonic. Dynacord RhythmStick. MPC. Paiste 2002/Signatures. Cajons. Djembes. Darbuka. Windsynth. MIDI Bass. Tenori-on. Loads o' synth modules. And...a ukulele or three.

Comment

OP,
          It depends how big of a kit you want to play.

The DTX502 is limited to 1x Ride, 1x Crash, 1x HH, 1x snare, 3x toms, 1x kick and 1x extra single zone pad.

You won't be able to swap a Tom for another Crash, as the Tom inputs are piezo-piezo.