Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Here is how to stack sounds on TD modules with MIDI and Perc sets

Hello,

I'm new to all this but I thought I could share a smart trick on this very day with all of you who haven't received the TD-50DP kit on time.

Have you got a Roland module with perc sets and a MIDFI IN/OUT (or via a computer USB), a computer with a DAW or an old MIDI capable sequencer (like the Yamaha RM1X)?

Well, if you can route the MIDI OUT of the module to the MIDI IN via something that can derive channel on the return loop to the perc set channel, there you go, simply set up a percussion set to match your kit and you're ready to play richer and deeper snares, kicks, and so on.

It is possible to operate this as a standalone setup with the help of a MIDI Solutions Router box to transform signal from channel (say) 10 out of the module into channel (say) 11 in the module to reach the perc set.

Works very well on the TD-30, the percussion sets sounds are quite editable, they sound through the sequencer reverb and chorus if you want them to and they give what a bottom mono mic would give to a recording set up. You can then greatly enhance your kits to add rich overtone sounding snare to crisp ones, on toms, if you tune them well, it gives a very good replacement to the missing bottom head, and of course you can now stack cymbals and crashes, and for the kick it bring new possibilities as well. The polyphony is not an issue and the latency is not noticeable, depending on the midi processor you use.

So after that it's time to reconsider the TD-50 because, well, and the TD-30 is a totally different beast now you can dial in the perfect snare, kick, cymbal stacks, and what not, enjoy!

hehe
    Last edited by lumpenprog; 12-24-16, 04:39 PM.