Welcome! If this is your first visit, you will need to register to participate.

DO NOT use symbols in usernames. Doing so will result in an inability to sign in & post!

If you cannot sign in or post, please visit our Forum Talk section for answers to frequently asked questions.

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Real newbie question

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Real newbie question

Hi, having had my td11kv for over a year now and pretty much just playing it, I've decided to try and get the best I can from it and was wondering what purpose the midi port serves. Can I utilise this to give me more options for anything useful, thanks, Dusty. Please keep it simple as I'm not very technical with this stuff.

Hi,
    MIDI is your TD-11s Musical Instrument Digital Interface. It allows your TD-11's sound generator (which is a computer in of itself) to "speak" to other devices. You can use your TD-11 kit to play other instruments that have a MIDI IN port. It also allows you to record into a computer that has a MIDI In connection. That said, since it also has USB/MIDI, this is unnecessary. It's simpler to use USB/MIDI for the computer connection, since it's two-way (In and Out). Bear in mind that recording via MIDI doesn't record audio information; it's just the data your TD-11 used to play its internal sounds in the first place. It's sort of like the old-fashioned player piano roll (see image) with the little spikes on the spool in a digital format.

So you can actually use your TD-11 to play a synthesizer, or any other MIDI keyboard, and any other drum module that has MIDI In. Other than that it doesn't do anything useful that I can think of. That said, when MIDI first came out it was an amazing thing to be able to play other instruments as a drummer, and it still is. It's just lost its "Wow" factor.

Hope this helps.
    Attached Files