Announcement

Collapse

Technical Posting Guidelines

TECHNICAL DISCUSSION ONLY! DO NOT POST LOUNGE OR PRODUCT DISCUSSION!

Having issues? Please visit our Forum Talk section for answers to frequently asked questions.

See more
See less

V-Drums sampling, better than DDrums

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• V-Drums sampling, better than DDrums

If I use something like CuBase VST 5 or GigaSampler/GigaStudio to sample my (still to come) V-Custom with a TD8KV, will the sound be comparable to the DDrum 4? Is it hard to do?

I am still a newbie to the whole e-drums thing but I am reading a lot here and learning a lot too!

Thank you in advance,
    Kornalius

Interesting post! So using a computer sampler with a drum module is a hard thing to do then? I am looking for a good (close-to) acoustic sound. I don't think I can buy ddrum's in Montreal/Canada, I haven't seen them anywhere.

Comment

Very interesting post c.jude. I am just about ready to buy a sampler. Could you reccomend a good sampler. I hear alot about this gigasampler. I would not wanna go throgh my pc though, this would have to used live. Surely you have some favorites.

------------------
      -Drumlogic, V-session, Visulite/roland cymbals, (2)Mackie srm-450's, bbe 482 sonic maximizer,
      -Drumlogic, V-session, Visulite/roland cymbals, (2)Mackie srm-450's, bbe 482 sonic maximizer,

Comment

Gigasampler needing dedicated hardware is a myth. I run Gigastudio 96 on a Pentium 3/500, and it runs on my Athlon 1.4 with VST simultaneously with no problems.

On the Athlon, with 96 simultaneous voices playing the Gigapiano sampled piano (1 Gigabyte sample size), CPU usage rarely touches 25%. It is one of the most economical software samplers I have seen (Halion- now THAT's a resource hog).