Announcement

Collapse

Technical Posting Guidelines

TECHNICAL DISCUSSION ONLY! DO NOT POST LOUNGE OR PRODUCT DISCUSSION!

Having issues? Please visit our Forum Talk section for answers to frequently asked questions.

See more
See less

Soundman Problems

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Soundman Problems

Recently I played a live show in a small club,and i had nothing but problems with the soundman.I own a V-pro set (with the td-10 head), the soundman told me that "that kit is a piece of s#%t and that i should do myself and him a favour and take it back" I had a very bad sound that night although i cant give him all the blame cause it was my first time playing that kit live. The way i had the set running in to the board was with 2 di boxes(oops) I now know that i should be running in with more boxes if there is anything else that i can do any pointers would be greatly appreciated.I realy want to go back and put this **** in his place.

I am no expert, so take this advice at your own risk.

The first thing you want to do is "unmix" your output so it can be manipulated on a more detailed level at the board. Say, 4 seperate outputs minimum (bass, snare, toms, cymbals) although I believe the TD-10 supports up to 8 seperate outs. This will put more responsibility on your soundman.

Second, turn off your built-in effects (ambience) and EQ for all pads, on all kits that you will use live. The quality of these features is questionable and will sound much different (worse) through a PA than through your headphones. This will also put more responsibility on your soundman.

Third, consider the addition of a BBE sound processor, which many on this board endorse for PA use. The BBE will make your samples sound more natural over the PA. (Search for "BBE" on this board for more info.) Most people use one channel for bass, and the other for snare.