Announcement

Collapse

Technical Posting Guidelines

TECHNICAL DISCUSSION ONLY! DO NOT POST LOUNGE OR PRODUCT DISCUSSION!

Having issues? Please visit our Forum Talk section for answers to frequently asked questions.

See more
See less

Adding an effects unit to a TD-8

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Adding an effects unit to a TD-8

I'm close to buying a TD-8 module and have been considering adding an outboard effects unit to process some the TD-8's sounds (I want more than the ambience feature found on the TD-8 but for really don't want to slurge for the TD-10). Since I'm a newbie in this area, I'd appreciate input on the following:

1) Do any of you use an outboard effects box on your TD-8? If so, can you recommend a few models to evaluate?

2) When using the TD-8 with an effects unit for home practice with headphones, if I run a CD player through the TD-8 to play along with recorded music, will the recording also be processed (in addition to the drum sounds from the TD-8)? I don't I'd want the music on the CD to be processed so hopefully there's a way around this.

3) I'm assuming that the main outputs of the TD-8 are fed directly into the inputs on the effects unit (if you want the whole kit processed). Can headphones then be plugged into the effects unit or do I need another piece of gear to monitor the processed signal.

Sorry for all of these remedial questions but I'm really just starting to learn about electronic music. This site has been extremely helpful up til now.

Thanks,
    Artie

Hey, artie:

Ah, yes, effects processing with the TD-8. One of my favorite subjects. The bile is rising already.....