Announcement

Collapse

Technical Posting Guidelines

TECHNICAL DISCUSSION ONLY! DO NOT POST LOUNGE OR PRODUCT DISCUSSION!

Having issues? Please visit our Forum Talk section for answers to frequently asked questions.

See more
See less

Question: Recording to laptop?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Question: Recording to laptop?

Sorry if this is too basic of a question but I'm new to this. I have a TD-9SX kit & I'm tried recording to my lapto by connecting a single cable from one of the 2 output ports from the TD-9 into my laptops MIC input. So I have a stereo 1/4 cable that I plug to the brain & the other end is a 1/8 size. I used Windows Recorder function and when I played the recording it sounds like crap (a lot of static). When I try the same connecting my iPod into my laptop the recording sounds fine so I don't think it's the laptop.

What am I doing wrong here? Why would recording from my iPod work but when I try the drums it sounds like crap?
    My Gased Out TD9SX

sigpic

More pics at http://vdrums.com/forum/album.php?albumid=115

So you are using a 1/4" stereo to 1/8" stereo cable? I'm not familiar with the TD9 module but i just looked at a picture diagram of it.... it looks like what you should be using is a cable that has two mono 1/4" plugs at the TD9 end ( left & right outputs) and a single 1/8" stereo plug at the laptop end. Also check to be sure you do not have the volume of the TD9 turned up too high - that would definitely distort the sound. And check the recording levels on the laptop. I know that some mic inputs on laptops have a "mic" setting which boosts the input signal - you would want to turn that off. Ideally you should be using a line-in input rather than mic input but I know that most laptops only provide a combination mic/line jack.

Comment