Welcome! If this is your first visit, you will need to register to participate.

DO NOT use symbols in usernames. Doing so will result in an inability to sign in & post!

If you cannot sign in or post, please visit our vBulletin Talk section for answers to vBulletin related FAQs.

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Mac Vs. Windows

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Mac Vs. Windows

Hi gang

Long story short i have been offered a Power Mac G4 for next to nothing to use for running Vxpressions and other Midi files on my TD10, as I am a comp novice on Midi I need to know are Mac's as good at running Midi as they are everthing else? It has 1Gb of ram and is wipe clean with a DVD re writer don't know what else to say,

N.
    TD-12 VEX TMC-6 A2E kit 16 pieces and growing and a cursed left handed child of the devil.

When it comes to midi, it really does not matter. The interface and software you use will be the key points. What are your (midi/audio I/O) needs and what do you plan to use?
    Alan
    ---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    website | youtube | facebook | group | newsletter | message | recommendations

Comment

Mac's really excel at anything creative, so I wouldn't hesitate to use one for what you describe. The guy I bought my kit from demo'd midi samples in Garageband on his powerbook. I was suitably impressed, and quite suprised to find that Garageband is an application that comes with the Mac OS.
      Jack

Sabre's Album

Comment

Mac's rule, I'd have no hesitation recommending it at all.

Comment

Bump to everyone else here. I have two G4 400 MHz Mac's which are ancient by today's standards and rarely get used now but they would easily run any midi app.
          I did use one of them to record a live gig recently and it managed to record 18 channels of 24 bit audio for three hours straight without a single hiccup.