Welcome! If this is your first visit, you will need to register to participate.

DO NOT use symbols in usernames. Doing so will result in an inability to sign in & post!

If you cannot sign in or post, please visit our vBulletin Talk section for answers to vBulletin related FAQs.

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Newbie! Sensitivity? TD-20 vs TD-10 vs Alesis I/O

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Newbie! Sensitivity? TD-20 vs TD-10 vs Alesis I/O

Hi, this forum is great. I'm a professional drummer and looking to start my home studio. I need to track album quality material and I've decided instead of building a drum room etc, I'll go the e-drum route. I recently watched the Omar Hakim video and I was very impressed with the sesitivity of the TD 20 V-drums module/kit. All the ghost notes, the flushes on the hi-hats, etc. Awesome. I don't care about the sounds. I'll use BFD, AD or OWD. But I need that sensitivity. My question is this. I'll use the v-drum mesh drum and cymbal/hihat pads but quite simply, is that type of sensitivity/velocity/ etc. available with the lower end sound modules such as the TD12, TD10 or Alesis I/O. Again, I don't care about the sounds. I want to be able to play that loose and free and have that level of response. Can I do that on the 'cheap'?

Thanks for your help!!
    -D

Welcome aboard Drumsrdrugs
    It's interesting that you mention the Omar Hakim clips as your catalyst for looking into V Drums. That is what got me started on this path too. Omar Hakim is one of my favourite drummers.