Welcome! If this is your first visit, you will need to register to participate.

DO NOT use symbols in usernames. Doing so will result in an inability to sign in & post!

If you cannot sign in or post, please visit our Forum Talk section for answers to frequently asked questions.

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

corrupt TD-20 samples?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• corrupt TD-20 samples?

Hi all,

First post here, and I'm in need of some debugging help for it appears that the drummer in my band has broken his TD-20 machine and doesn't know what to do about it.

A quick disclaimer: I'm not a drummer, I've never used this machine before and don't know much about it at all, so you may have to baby step me through some of the simple things like obtaining the firmware version and the like if it'll help debug this problem. I am however a computer programmer by trade, and full time geek, plus I have access to a full electronics debug lab with o-scopes, logic analyzers, fine pitch soldering stations and eeprom burners, and I'm not afraid of using any of them. I'm ready to tackle this problem down to any level of detail that it takes.

Now onto the problem:

It sounds like I've got corrupt sample data on the cymbals bank.
    I pulled the battery out so I'm starting off with a completely reset system. Nothing is attached to it other than a pair of headphones.
    After powering it up, the LCD displays Vpro and the LED display says 1, so without pressing any other buttons, I'm on the 1st drum in the 1st drum kit.

If I hit the Preview pad, the drum sounds fine, at any velocity.