Welcome! If this is your first visit, you will need to register to participate.

DO NOT use symbols in usernames. Doing so will result in an inability to sign in & post!

If you cannot sign in or post, please visit our Forum Talk section for answers to frequently asked questions.

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Will reversing bass beater cause damage?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Will reversing bass beater cause damage?

I'm a new drummer and just love my TD6V drumset. I have the black rubber KD-8 bass drum, not the mesh one. Having bass drum rebound problems, it plays 2 notes instead of one due to bouncing. I have a felt beater on the pedal, I found that turning the head around and using the very hard solid black plastic side eliminates the bouncing problem. There is a slightly louder "smack" sound, but not bad.

I'm asking for advice from more experienced folks if this will damage my bass drum? And if so, what else can be done to fix the bounce problem?

Thank you for reading
    =============================================

"Jack of all intruments, Master of none"

Roland TD-6V drums with PD105 snare, Fender Lone Star Strat, Traben 4 String Bass, Yamaha Piano

those kd 8's are virtually indestructable, take some getting used to and may require some adaptation in technique to work properly.
    http://vdrums.com/forum/showthread.p...760#post301760
    :cool:
    ;)

Comment

simple answer, yes the hard plastic beater will damage your kd8,s playing surface. I used the kd8 for a few years with a plastic beater and it wears the rubber away, It will not effect the performance at all it is purely cosmetic, like Fred said they are pretty much indestructible. As for the bounce you can use the retrigger cancel, don't know what the td6 offers never had one, or develop better playing technique, not meaning to offend there...
      My Kit
      http://www.vdrums.com/forum/attachme...2&d=1257067362

Comment