Announcement

Collapse

Technical Posting Guidelines

TECHNICAL DISCUSSION ONLY! DO NOT POST LOUNGE OR PRODUCT DISCUSSION!

Having issues? Please visit our Forum Talk section for answers to frequently asked questions.

See more
See less

TD27 Getting good sound from Zoom Livetrak Mixer for silent band rehearsal

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• TD27 Getting good sound from Zoom Livetrak Mixer for silent band rehearsal

I'm brand new to Edrums. I'm actually just a bass player, but I splurged on a VAD506 kit to set up a "silent" band rehearsal/demo recording studio at my house. I bought a Zoom Livetrak L-12 primarily because it's capable of independent headphone mixes, similar to the now defunct Jamhub.

I'm pretty happy with the TD27 sounds with headphones plugged directly into the headphone output of the module. Nice full stereo sounds with good bass and soundstage.

But when I plug them into the mixer, and use the mixers headphone output, the drums sound much thinner, one dimensional, mono, and uneven.

I'm trying to get the absolute best sound possible for my bands silent practice through headphones. I also have EZ Drummer 2 (which i haven't used with the Edrums yet) a macbook pro, and a Scarlett 212 interface.

Can someone help me get a full, natural sounding, stereo signal into all my bandmates headphones?

How have you connected the TD-27 to the mixer, have you got the output level from the TD-27 set high, what is the gain setting for the outputs set at in the module settings, and have you set the gain levels in the mixer so the channel signals are strong but not too hot?

Sorry if these are basic questions, just checking all the potential issues.
    Roland TM-6 Pro and TD-11 modules with Roland RT30 triggers and Yamaha PCY cymbals. Plus all the acoustic stuff.

Comment

Buy some Yamaha SessionCakes .
      *** Never buy a module without MIDI IN ***