Announcement

Collapse

Technical Posting Guidelines

TECHNICAL DISCUSSION ONLY! DO NOT POST LOUNGE OR PRODUCT DISCUSSION!

Having issues? Please visit our Forum Talk section for answers to frequently asked questions.

See more
See less

Can't get TD-17KVX to play through MacBook

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Can't get TD-17KVX to play through MacBook

Hi folks! I'm new to v-drums and am trying to record my TD-17KVX. When I plug it into my computer, I can't trigger any sounds. I've installed the TD-17 driver, set the USB driver to Vendor, and set MIDI local control to off, and still nothing.

My setup:
    Roland TD-17KVX
    Focusrite 2i2
    Ableton Live Lite
    EZ Drummer 2

TD-17 > MacBook (via USB) > Ableton Live Lite > EZ Drummer 2
    MacBook > 2i2 > Headphones

I can select the TD-17 as a MIDI input, I can create an EZ Drummer track in Ableton, and I can hear the EZ Drummer samples through my headphones when I click the on-screen kit with my cursor, but can't hear anything when I hit the drum triggers. I also tried the same setup in GarageBand instead of Ableton, with the same result. When I select the TD-17 as an input device in the Sound section of System Preferences, I see the mic indicator bars moving when I hit the drum triggers. I'm at a loss. Any ideas?

You have to use/change/select also! the Roland Driver as an output (audio) device inside Ableton or Garage Band (probably preferences), do not own both programs and plug your headphones to the Roland module.......in (midi) and! output (sound) have to be roland driver.

Or you use your Scarlett as an output device, then plug Headphones to it and change it inside the DAW to output device.

Be sure to arm the track and also press the monitor (track) button (at least in some default DAW settings) to hear the kit...

I think vendor mode is only needed when you use (set) the TD17 as and audio device and listen through it (headphones are plugged into TD17).