Announcement

Collapse

Technical Posting Guidelines

TECHNICAL DISCUSSION ONLY! DO NOT POST LOUNGE OR PRODUCT DISCUSSION!

Having issues? Please visit our Forum Talk section for answers to frequently asked questions.

See more
See less

Relative lifetime of roland TD module / brain vs. mesh pads

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Relative lifetime of roland TD module / brain vs. mesh pads

The amplification circuit in my TD-12 module is failing, the module is now 11 years old so I'm guessing not worth repairing (I already had the LCD screen replaced a couple of years ago). I have the choice of buying a new compatible sound module / brain or replacing the whole kit. It only sees light use for practice, are the pads and cymbals likely to last 15+ years and thus it is worth me simply replacing the module?

i have no special knowledge about this, but ...

the main parts on the mesh pads that will deteriorate are the heads and the cones, both easily and affordably replaceable. the cymbals should hold up as long as the rubber is sound, so a visual inspection should answer your question. i’ve had my td9 roughly as long as you’ve had your td12 - maybe a bit longer, and it sounds as though it’s seen a bit more useage than your kit tho probably in the same ballpark. i’m confident of getting another 5-10 years from all my pads with the possible exception of the cy15 which is showing some wear in one spot. i’ve never changed the heads and am about to change the cones. for all of the valid criticisms of roland, their gear is super reliable
    Roland TD9 (KD8, FD9), Yamaha DTX Multi12 (KT10, HH65, TP100), Zendrum EXP (Stompblock) || Scarlett 6i6 > imac; 2i4 >macbook || Superior Drummer 3, Logic || Yamaha HS7s, Yamaha DBR10, ATH-M30x || DIY compact a-kit, Mapex Meridian, Zildjian Ks, some As and Sabians and ... || youtube

Comment

Got pads that are over 30 years old that still work. (got electronics that are nearly 40 years old that still work )