Announcement

Collapse

Technical Posting Guidelines

This forum is for soft/hardware technical questions & discussion only! Topics posted incorrectly will be deleted.
See more
See less

Customizing TD-17 via USB - technical data sheets?

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Customizing TD-17 via USB - technical data sheets?

I'm brand new to drumming, but I have a fair amount of experience in software engineering. Yesterday I bought a TD-17KV which I'm delighted with, but I can tell that customizing everything via the module is going to be frustrating. This is not a criticism of the user interface itself - but I'm used to a full sized monitor, keyboard and mouse, which obviously provide more scope.

My hope is that either there's already software available for customizing everything from a computer, or this is feasible via USB but no-one's written the software yet. If it's the latter, I'm happy to have a go myself, but I'd need a technical data sheet with all the details of how to talk to the TD-17 module via USB.

All my searches so far have led me to results about using the USB port for recording from CakeWalk, etc - nothing about talking to it directly from code. It's not clear to me whether that's because it's infeasible, or just that hardly anyone does it.

Roland does not release these specs or data. You can only reverse engineer the files. You might want to contact VDrumLib to see if they'd be interested in partnering with them for some updates.
    Alan
    -------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    website | youtube | facebook | group | newsletter | twitter | message
    -------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Comment