Announcement

Collapse

Technical Posting Guidelines

TECHNICAL DISCUSSION ONLY! DO NOT POST LOUNGE OR PRODUCT DISCUSSION!

Having issues? Please visit our Forum Talk section for answers to frequently asked questions.

See more
See less

Roland TD17KVX and EZ Drummer 2

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Roland TD17KVX and EZ Drummer 2

Ok, please be gentle its only my 3rd post...……………. I need your help!

I'm completely new to Edrums, DAWs and VSTs (had to Wikipedia both of those terms to understand what they are)

Anyway, I'm completely confused and need help.

I have a Roland TD17KVX + Expressions Series 3 add on pack. All working as expected, no issues. I thought (naively I now realise) that I could extend the range of kits by using software and it would simply be a case of hooking up using my USB (looks like a printer cable) lead, hit the drums and then what I play on the TD17 would be accurately represented on the demo version of EZ Drummer 2. However, this isn't the case.

I have managed to get the MIDI connection working no problems, I hit a drum on the TD17 and it splashes up on the screen, however the volume levels are not represented correctly.

Am I missing something really obvious? Why does the software not take the velocity hit of up to 127 and represent it 'accurately' in the application?

Is this just an issue with EZ drummer? Would it be the same with Superior Drummer or other drum software?

I really just want to extend the range of kits I have I'm not really into music production. I saw EZ drummer 2 as a potentially good investment but am not sure now if that's the way to go.

Any help would be appreciated.

Cheers

Scott
    Last edited by badboybubby; 04-02-19, 01:33 PM.
    Roland TDK17KVX + VExpressions Series 3 Kits
    Mapex H800 Hi-Hat
    Mapex P800 Single Pedal
    Mapex Throne