Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Live E-Kit with TDV6 (black) Module! What are my options?

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Live E-Kit with TDV6 (black) Module! What are my options?

So, I'm converting a drum kit to electronic with mesh heads on the toms triggered by red ddrum triggers, a roland dual zone snare, a roland screw-on bass drum trigger with a deadened bass drum head and some cymbals with a black mesh wrap to deaden them.

I'm going to use Superior drummer on a laptop, paired up with a generic midi interface and the TD6V module. So far everything seems to work, but I haven't really figured out my full setup yet which is why I'm posting.

I'm a standup drummer so I won't be able to play my hihat with my foot. I need a way to be able to get a closed and open hihat sound from one pad. Suggestions? With my normal acoustic kit I use two hihats.

As far as ride and crash cymbals, ideally, I'd like to get those two sounds out of the same trigger as well, one that looks like a cymbal preferably. My normal acoustic kit uses a crash/ride cymbal.

I'm definitely going with the less is more look here, think Stray Cats. I've played this way for over 10 years with this band on my acoustic kit. I now want to switch it up with the e-kit!!! Smaller and lighter drums!! I sing lead full time and its easier to sing standing than hunched down behind drums.

It would be nice to have maybe another pad or two for extraneous sounds as well, but I haven't gotten that far.

Is my module too old to achieve my goals? Do I need an interface like a Tascam US 2x2 or Scarlett?

We run our own sound in my band, so I'll be going right into our PA. I use in-ears and play to a click a lot of the time. I have a small mixer that I use to control my own personal mix with the click, sequences and normal band inst and vocals.

Thanks all!

Trent
    Last edited by swingrays; 07-11-18, 06:31 PM.