Announcement

Collapse

Technical Posting Guidelines

TECHNICAL DISCUSSION ONLY! DO NOT POST LOUNGE OR PRODUCT DISCUSSION!

Having issues? Please visit our Forum Talk section for answers to frequently asked questions.

See more
See less

tracking the pintech

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• tracking the pintech

Hi all,

I am new to this group and not yet an edrum owner (but will be soon). I realize my questions may have been asked in various ways before, but I searched the archives and didn't find the answers (or as a novice I didn't recongize them as such). I appreciate your patience.

I am planning to buy a pintech CS8 kit, and I am leaning towards the TD-8 module. However, after many hours of searching through various forum posts I have a concern. I have seen many references to "tracking problems" when using the TD-8 with pintechs. Often these are accompanied by explanations that it has to do with "positional sensing" in the TD-8. I would be grateful if someone would answer 4 three questions for me:

(a) What exactly is tracking?

(b) Is it true that there is a pintech/TD-8 compatibility problem?

(c) Is this problem correctible, or should I look for a different module (e.g., Alesis DM-Pro)?

(d) Finally, suppose I wanted to play a fast pattern using multiple drums (e.g., solos on Rush's "Tom Sawyer", or the intro to Liquid Tension's "Paradigm Shift"). Could the TD-8 keep up? Or would I overload the polyphony?

Thanks for any help you can provide! One great attraction of the TD-8 is that you are an unusually high quality BB group. If I get the TD-8 I'll be a regular.

Regards,
    Kris

Originally posted by Kris:
    (a) What exactly is tracking?