Welcome! If this is your first visit, you will need to register to participate.

DO NOT use symbols in usernames. Doing so will result in an inability to sign in & post!

If you cannot sign in or post, please visit our Forum Talk section for answers to frequently asked questions.

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Snare Rim Shots

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Snare Rim Shots

I have been using a PD-125 for my snare for several years. Over time the rim shots have become very sporadic. Sometimes it works more often it dont. Do I need to change a trigger. Is there a specific trigger for the rim ? The normal snare head trigger works fine.

So something similar just happened to me.

First It could be the cable to module that is defective, you should check it before going any further.

I did the modification on the PD-125 so that rimshots work as on the PD-128, it works great, but then it acted weirdly. I reopened it and noticed the problem was not on the piezo, but possibly on the soldering of the jack assembly. I did fresh soldering, the wire is reinforced with a fiber that makes it hard to solder (like on headphones cables), but then it appeared the problem was not even that nor the triangular circuit the jack assembly is soldered to : it was on the jack assembly itself! I cracked it opened (at the rear - don't worry the entire jack assembly and circuit is not necessary to the good functioning of the snare, and a new stereo female jack assembly is about 1,5$, it doesn't matter if you break it) and noticed all simply inside the tube itself the connector legs were tired, resulting in false contact with the male jack to module. As simple as that.