touch and glow cymbal choke

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• touch and glow cymbal choke

hello, i'm steve, i've been lurking here for a while... just moved into a town house and decided it's time to build an electronic kit...

i don't know if anyone has ever tried this, but i had the idea to try and rig a touch and glow lamp switch to choke an electronic cymbal. my grandmother used to have one on a lamp, and although i never tried hitting her lamp with a drumstick to turn it on, i believe it only ever responded to the touch of skin. so if it was wired onto an a to e cymbal, there must be some way to route it to the choke function. here is the switch i'm talking about: http://www.lowes.com/lowes/lkn?actio...102&lpage=none

i am a total noob at this, just thought i would throw it out there and see if you guys think it's possible. once a get my trigger i/o in the mail i am going to take one of these apart and see if i can figure something out.

There's an easier way to do this. I have been thinking of doing the same thing. I just bought my drums and waiting on the paycheck to get my set of cymbals and I'll be trying something like this:

Edit: rather than a buzzer, you could rig up a small relay to close the contacts when you touch the cymbal. That would close the circuit, thereby performing the choke function of your brain.

I'm going to throw this circuit together and give it a shot soon and will post here when I get it done.
    Dan

Comment

Uh, yeah! That's what I was gonna suggest...
      Id rather be told the ugly truth than handed a pretty lie.

Comment

Welcome to the forum Steve...
        Roland Td-11KV, Alesis SamplePad, DW5000 pedal, Vater 7A sticks.

Comment

I've seen a thread around here about this idea before. I don't think that any members have tried it... if they have, they either didn't get it working or didn't bother posting their findings.