Welcome! If this is your first visit, you will need to register to participate.

DO NOT use symbols in usernames. Doing so will result in an inability to sign in & post!

If you cannot sign in or post, please visit our vBulletin Talk section for answers to vBulletin related FAQs.

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Is the McMaster foam just as good?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Is the McMaster foam just as good?

If I order the foam from McMaster in place of Roland cones, does it work just as well as the Roland?

That's really all I want to know..LOL

All indications from those in the know is, yes it works as well as the stock Roland cones.
    Some of the most well know DIY'ers use it exclusively.
    Jack

Sabre's Album

Comment

sweet. thanks!

Comment

Poron very-soft is hard to beat.
        chris :D

Comment

Ahh, a thread (loosely) along the lines I was going to post under. I'm new to the DIY scene, and am wondering if anyone has tried (and how successfully) using one of the foams available in rods from McMaster-Carr? It seems like it would be much easier and more consistent than cutting/stacking the 86375K144 from them.

What am I missing here? I notice that the 863ect. has a unique combination of being very soft with excellent compression recovery and a fairly high density. Compared to the silicone with good compression recovery but a "firm" firmness and higher density or the Static control foam which also has good compression recovery and is rated as "soft" (instead of "extra soft"), but is much less dense.

I look at all of this and my head starts to hurt, particularly when I read of some people utilizing sanding blocks from the local big box store to fabricate cones from! How much does the particular foam effect the response???