Rim guards

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Rim guards

I've been playing edrums for more than 15 years and tried every rim guard that I can find on the market on my snare and none of them hold up to my playing for more than a few weeks. They all start to split along the leading edge of the metal rim where my sticks lands most frequently on rimshots then becomes loose at those spots. Then it takes a stronger and stronger hit to trigger the rim and my dynamics become off. I've tried putting 2 layers of electrical tape on the rim before installing the guard to try and blunt the sharp edge of the metal rim but that didn't work. Then I ran across this post about rim protectors on cymbals-

"U-channel EPDM is also used as door edge guards on automobiles and other applications that involve repeated impact. Industrially, it can be had with varying hardness levels. I've been using industrial U-channel EPDM on my own drums as rim guards and can attest it stands up very, very well to me beating the living daylights out of it with direct rim shots."

I PM'd the writer of the statement above asking him more specifically what he uses but have not heard back from him.

Does anyone have any ideas here?

Originally posted by cobaltdrive View Post
    Does anyone have any ideas here?

I have been on the same quest for about the same amount of time (15-20 years). I believe I have found the holy grail of rim guards, specifically for the snare to combat heavy rmishot strikes (as least for me) in the Pintech SiltenTrim.

Like you I have tried almost everything out there including hardware store rubber and nothing holds up as good as the Pintech. It's the only rim guard I will use on my snare now. Very durable!

https://www.sweetwater.com/store/det...entrim-14-inch
    Pearl Mimic Pro; Custom Acrylic Shells; ISM-6 Snare Conversion Kit; UFO eBridges; ATV/Roland Cymbals.

TD-50DP => SD3; KD-9; PDX-100(x4); VH-13; Roland Cymbals.

Comment