Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Building an Edrum kit

Hey all
    Please help...I am a acoustic drummer that has been delving into the world of serums.
    After using the spdsx and some triggers, i want to change it up and build a full e kit. I bought an old junky shell pack and will get some mesh heads, a brain, and cymbals but I need you help...
    I need some mesh heads and some suggestions on what you all use. It seems drum tec are a pretty solid multi ply head system and that will work. Eventually, I will add internal triggers but for now, Iím just going to use external rolands I have to test out how I like this.

But the biggest question is the module...i really love Roland spdsx and what it can do. It just isnít set up for a full kit. A feature I need is to import full song backing samples which the spdsx does with ease. I would love to stay with Roland but am open to other companies just as long as it doesnít decrease my choice selection for cymbals when ready to purchase.

I have learned so much from this group already and I thank you. Please help me build this kit. I am very excited about it.

I think I would build a kit and use the spdsx. The Roland external triggers will cost you a lot of money. Why not get hold of some Redshot triggers which are much cheaper and do the same thing. Better still spend hardly anything on piezo disks and fix them on a L bracket with a bit of a plate and foam up to the mesh head. Put another one of the cheap piezo disks on the inside of the shell with double sided tape and then wire them up to a stereo socket. Probably cost a few pounds/dollars and you get to try it out without a big outlay. That's how I did it and found the real trickery is in the modules. Mine worked just as well as commercial triggers. I used that technique for years on my snare.