Ideas for DIY triggers on the cheap

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Ideas for DIY triggers on the cheap

I have been thinking about adding some cymbal triggers to my growing set, but then I just bought 4 hard rubber pads off Reverb.com for $10 each. Not being a drummer, I realized I don't have any particular NEED to hit a thing that LOOKS like a cymbal. I have my ride cymbal on a hard rubber pad and it's OK for my needs. So then I thought, after this liberating revelation, what else could I do now that I have broken free of convention?

I see that you can get raw piezo triggers for about 50 cents to a dollar each. My DDTI still has at least 5 unused inputs, so I figured I could mount little "things" with piezo in them for such things as ride bell, splash, alternate tom hits (e.g. as supported in AD2). I saw one instructable article where the guy just mounted the piezos into small hunks of 2x4s. The only challenge with that (that wasn't discussed) is how to mount these to the rack with a bit of isolation. Foam and double sided tape I suppose?

Then I was thinking about cymbal chokes. AD2 chokes a variety of cymbals just with a specific note. So, why not get a momentary switch, maybe a microswitch with sort of a flat thing set up so you can reach over and press it, and then send that switch to ALL choke inputs at once? Let's face it, if you are choking a cymbal then you are using both hands and only hitting one cymbal and then choking it, so there is no performance tradeoff of having one switch for choking all cymbals (long as they don't make any noise if a cymbal is not already ringing).