X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• DIY snare ATV aD5

Hi everyone!

I am quite new to edrums and DIY,

I build a head rim trigger similar to the DrumTec, R-Drums, Vdrums Tips construction on a 14” snare. 2 plates top and bottom connected with hex spacers and fixed to the shell lugs I used grommets trying to stop vibration from top plate running to the bottom plate (where the rim piezo is mounted) I used a Roland foam cone and a DrumTec Real Feel mesh head.

After assembling everything and making sure that all connections are right, I started to have triggering issues, most of the time works well, but from time to time the rim piezo triggers when I hit the mesh. It happen randomly and at different velocities.

Looks like the rim piezo triggers by the vibrations travelling from the top plate running down the bottom plate.

I tried to adjust rim head sensitivity and try different pad setup on the module but couldn’t get the right trigger separation.

If anyone can give me any suggestion on how to fix this issue or give any tip why this can happen it will be really helpful.

At the moment to fix the issue I attached the rim piezo to the shell, looks like is working but I don’t want to give up on having my trigger system working properly.

Thanks in advance

Last edited by Bortx; 04-15-19, 04:36 PM.
    ATV aD5 - Ludwig Breakbeats A2E conversión - Roland VH11 CY15 CY12 C/R - DDT mounted triggers - DIY Snare

Get yourself a cheap scope (sometimes you get old analog ones for a price of a pizza...) and look at the waveforms. Could be that the signal from the cone down along the plate is already making the rim vibrate enough to trigger it's piezo under some circumstances. But who knows, remotely.