Building a new E drum kit from scratch

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Building a new E drum kit from scratch

Hello all, So I am new to E drums and currently building a E kit. To start of I tried to add some electronic elements to my old acoustic kit. I bought a KD 7 and 3 PD 5's, to run it all I have a TD-3 module. I wasn't really happy with how it turned out so I let them sit. 4 years later, I have an itch. Just recently upgraded my acoustic kit after 25 years, and well I can't play it as often as I like because of neighbors and kids. So I am planning on upgrading my electronic parts to build a kit. I just bought an oversized E kit rack, PD 120 for snare, FD 8 and CY 5 combo, and another KD 7 for double bass. This at least allows me to practice somewhat functionally. Eventually I plan on upgrading the PD 5s to PD 105 and 120s. I could go on and on about the specifics of the cymbals and pads but my real question is, which module should I go with? I am looking at the TD 10 or the TD 20 (either one of them would have the expansion) To anyone out there who has experience with both, what would you recommend? I am so conflicted because of the money and the options of VST. Would it be worth it to buy the TD 10 use VST and dealing with on board sounds when needed(with the money saved thinking of SD3 for VST) or is the TD 20X worth the extra $400 to $600 and strictly use the on board sounds? Sorry I have rambled on for a while, I have been really going back and forth with these two ideas and would appreciate any input. Also if anyone has any suggestions on pads, cymbals, or if I am making some dumb mistakes, please let me know. One last note, I know I probably should have just bought a used full E kit to begin with, but the way I am doing it works financially for me and I feel like I can get a custom Roland kit in the end. Thanks.