Drum software for Versatrigger Wireless Triggers

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Drum software for Versatrigger Wireless Triggers

I am happily on my way to converting my first acoustic to electric kit. After doing some research I am pretty set on getting some wireless triggers from Versatrigger. I was wondering if anyone has experience setting these up as I have heard they can be a pain to capture subtleties like ghost notes.

I was just wondering if someone could offer a good VST to pair with these triggers. And if anyone has an opinion on their performance. After digging on this forum, Drumasonic Luxury and Drumasonic 2 came up. Any thoughts on these VSTs? I have never programmed a trigger before and would like to go this route so I don't have to use a module.

Thanks,

Davy

Drumasonic is very good, but it only really has 1 kit if I remember (2 snares, 3 kicks, and 1 set of toms). if you can afford it go for SD3, it's much better.

Comment

I use Versatrigger U-Boxes (and one Hihat box) for my whole kit.

2 kicks, Triggera Kriggs
      Snare, Wronka side-mounted trigger
      3 Toms, DDrum Red Shot triggers
      Hats, Yamaha PCY-135 + Roland FD9
      2 crashes, ride, china, Yamaha PCY-155
      Cowbell, Hart Hammer

I think it is a great product. I could dial in all the triggers above without problems. No problem with soft hits expect I get a little retriggering from my snare if threshold and retrigger cancelling too low. All three zones + choke of Yamaha cymbals work very well and you can actually set dynamics and velocity curve for each zone separately. That is very nice and useful characteristics IMO.