Acoustic drums

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Acoustic drums

Here's a picture of my drums that I've been playing for the last 30 years.
    http://www.metrocast.net/~rhythm/psychred.JPG

5 piece Ludwig Rocker in Psychedelic Red finish w/ pre-serial # supraphonic snare and Zildjian cymbals, Tama hi-hat stand and cymbal stands.
    I got this set new in 1971 for my 16th birthday.

------------------
    Woody
    Woody

2002 Purple V-Session w/PM-3 monitor-TDA-700 amplifier

1971 Psychedelic Red Ludwig Rockers with Zildjian cymbals

Woody,
    Nice kit.
    I am in NH too near Keene, where are you? I have no idea where Gilmanton is.

------------------
    Jeff, using...
    td 8,PD-120,
    pintech pads,gibraltor rack, JBL G2 EON 15 AND Mackie srs-1500, BBE 462 yamaha maple customs, remo jazz kit, buttloads of cymbals... 96 Tahoe,leather.
    The original Gig Pig.

Comment

ah, the beautiful sight of a traditional grip set-up.

Comment

I like the kit. Question, do you notice any difference between how you remember your kit sounding in '71 compared to today? I ask because I've been looking at a lot of "vintage" gear lately and am wondering if paying for something made decades ago is worthwhile when I can buy something made last week.
        td-6, pro-mark, remo, sabian, dw, tama rockstar.

Comment

Acidbran, I live near the Lake Region, Laconia, in central N.H.

Industrial drummer, the kit actually sounds better today than it did 30 years ago.
          I use Evans hydraulic heads on the toms and a Bear percussion batter head on the snare.
          Last year I got Zildjian Constantinople 22" med ride and 16" crash cymbals.
          I don't think it sounds any better than the drums they make today, it's just I'm used to it more, myself. Heck, the drums today are probably better than the old ones.