Bass Drum Pedal Tecnique

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Bass Drum Pedal Tecnique

First post here, drummers, so i don't know what kind of response I'll get. I've been playing for 10 months now and take lessons once a week. My instructor just noticed that I tend to leave the bass drum beater on the drum after I play a beat. He said this will hurt in recording cause of little extra hits a mic will pick up from the beater being there. He also said allowing the beater to bounce of the drum will produce a better sound and help improve speed. My problem is that's the way i'm comfortable, with my right foot down. Could anyone tell me if they've had this problem or ways I could fix it? drills, anything really... I'm so paranoid now and listen so closely. I really want to be a solid drummer. I'm only 16 and hope to someday be able to play some really sweet stuff, so better to work out the kinks sooner than later. Thanks a lot to anyone who responds or offers advice.

Steve

First off terry bozzio plays that way,so its a matter of control. get a dbl pedel it will help. get a copy of bass drum control.

Comment

A lot of top name drummers "bury the beater" when playing doubles, the way you describe, but they also let the beater bounce on single notes. For me it's a speed question, working with the bounce enables me to play a lot faster, and it's comfortable to me. One tip for the meanwhile, always place the ball of your foot about halfway up the pedal, about where the wide part of your footboard begins. That made it a lot easier for me when I started.

Stu
      "Fry that sound effect, Moriarty, we're having it for breakfast"

Comment

Learning the "heels down" technique might help.

You might try increasing the tension on the pedal too.

Comment