Welcome! If this is your first visit, you will need to register to participate.

DO NOT use symbols in usernames. Doing so will result in an inability to sign in & post!

If you cannot sign in or post, please visit our Forum Talk section for answers to frequently asked questions.

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Vdrums with a real hi-hat?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Vdrums with a real hi-hat?

I've got a TD-6KFV kit with the V-11 hi-hat (the one that sits on a real hi-hat stand). Now, I'm only an amateur - I don't play in bands or in a studio, I'm just taking lessons right now. I'm starting to get into more complex hi-hat patterns, like accented off-beats, etc. I find that the V-11 seems to be a little slow responding, and not as precise as I would like. It also spins as I play it, so that once in awhile there is a quiet spot where I hit it. I was debating whether to swap it for acoustic hats.

Does anyone else have problems like this? Has anyone tried this (acoustic hats with the Vdrums?) What type of cymbal works well with the kit? I thought I would probably need a 13" pair, other than that I haven't a clue.
    I can go try some combinations at the music store, but I thought I'd look here for advice first.

Thanks!
    Dave

The VH-11 shouldn't spin if your hi-hat stand rod is tightened to the pedal. Any acoustic hi-hat cymbals would work, but then at some stage you would probably have to think about putting a microphone near them and mixing that with your V-drums sounds.

Bruce

Comment

The hi-hat is probably the weakest link when it comes to edrums of any stripe. The Roland VH11 and VH12 are the pinacle of that technology, and some even prefer the VH11 over the VH12. Lots of people do what you are talking about - go accoustic for the cymbals - because the nuance and expression are so much better. I would say if you are looking for an identical feel with an electronic hat, you will be disappointed.