X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• crash cymbals

hi guys, first post here but i have been browsing & searching the forums for a while.

im currently wanting to expand my Vdrum set up, i have a TD12 brain & various roland pads i have bought second hand on eaby over the last years or so.

one thing im not happy about at all is Crash cymbals, i hate the roland ones, i like the look of the smart trigger ones but gosh they are pricey ^ rare in the UK

i am wondering if i should just build some, i want quite big cymbals as i use 18 & 20" crashes on my giging kit.

thing is i have no knowledge of circuits and wiaring etc... i can use a soldering iron & am quite handy.

I have made some Single Zone Piezo sensors as trial runs etc. & am happy with my attempts.. however what i really want is Chokable crashes, im not bothered about multi zone or anything, just single zone & chokable.

i have searched & serched through threads & cant find a straigt forward bit of info on how to do the wiring of it, everyone seems to be doing custom circuits for multi zone as well as choke.

so is it possible to do a simple choke wiring setup on a single zone crash, im happy to make the parts (choke area & such) i need, but if i have to do anything other than basic wiring i get lost....

i would appreciate any help??

karl

I too have searched quite a bit to find an effective way to wire a single zone crash choke. I thought I knew what would work, but when I tried it myself, it didn't work I have a TD-8 and I am 99% sure that cymbals can be choked using that module.

I have an excellent choke switch already set up on the cymbal, I just need to know how to wire it to make it choke. I know it has to be simple, but sometimes the simplest things are the easiest to overlook.

Help, please?
    sigpic

Comment

I got a lot of hits with DIY Choke using the search engine in the DIY forum. Here is one thread: